Fraternity History

Beta Upsilon Chi was formed at The University of Texas at Austin in the spring of 1985 by a handful of Christian men who desired an alternative to the present fraternal lifestyle. A group of Christian men met and planned the “BYX Island Party” to formally announce the fraternity’s founding. It was the vision of the founding fathers to have a fraternity of committed Christian men, based on the unique brotherhood that a Christian atmosphere affords, for the purpose of fellowship and glorification of Jesus Christ. Through such events as parties, service projects, and evangelical outreaches, the charter members of Beta Upsilon Chi chose to unite in fellowship and glorify Jesus Christ on the University of Texas campus.

Chapter History

The Alpha Zeta chapter of Beta Upsilon Chi was assembled in the Fall of 2011 when Harrison Collins contacted the national office about starting a new chapter. Close friends were contacted about getting involved and the first meetings to discuss and pray began to take place. In order to raise the necessary funds for starting the new chapter, the Founding Fathers decided to work together on the first BYX at UT Golf Tournament. Throughout the semester these men grew in unity together through unofficial BYX events like the golf tournament as well as socials, a date party, and an open party. The founders' goal was to create an environment at the University of Tennessee where college men could grow spiritually, socially and academically. These men worked diligently to achieve this but trusted that God orchestrated all things to happen and all glory is His. In November of 2011, Beta Upsilon Chi invited the first officer core to attend National Officer Training. In the next semester, Executive Director Jason Hoyt and National Advisor Nick England visited Knoxville to formally start the chapter. On January 17, 2012 the 21 founding fathers of the Alpha Zeta Chapter of Beta Upsilon Chi were initiated as members into the fraternity.

Founding Fathers

Aaron Bales, Chase Carden, Andrew Clark, Spencer Cochran, Harrison Collins, Jacob Frost, Eric Gibson, Eric Goins, Tanner Guinn, Blake Hankins, Anthony Harb, Peter Hjorth, Clay Jones, Adam Major, Payton McNabb, Adam Seal, Chris Smith, Nick Stoutt, Justin Webb, Stephen Wilson, Hayden Zelem

Chapter Sponsors: Joshua Brown, Matt Petty, Mark Hall, Zach Smith

© 2024 Beta Upsilon Chi, inc. | Official website of Beta Upsilon Chi - University of Tennessee